Skip to content
January 12th, 2023
Ranking Member Grijalva Announces New Staff Director, Other Democratic Committee Staff for the 118th Congress

Washington, D.C. – House Natural Resources Committee Ranking Member Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) today announced Lora Snyder as the new Democratic Staff Director for the 118th Congress. Snyder succeeds David Watkins, who retired from Congress after a more than 20-year tenure on the Committee. Snyder first joined the Committee in February 2018 as Professional Staff and was promoted to Staff Director for the Subcommittee on Water, Oceans, and Wildlife and later to Deputy Staff Director after Democrats won the House majority in 2018. Prior to coming to Congress, Snyder was a Campaign Director for Oceana, a Principal Advisor for Carol Browner, the former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, spent several years at a bipartisan consulting firm, and served as the Regional Deputy Director for Get Out the Vote in Ohio on President Obama’s campaign.

“Since she joined the Committee staff, Lora has proven herself a determined and effective leader with an unquestionable passion for protecting our public lands, oceans, waters, and wildlife, uplifting tribes and territories, and doing it all in a way that is justice oriented and science based,” Grijalva said. “Her leadership was a key reason the Natural Resources Committee was so successful over the last four years, and I have no doubt she and our tremendous staff will lead the charge in standing up for Democratic ideals over the Congress that awaits us.”

Grijalva also announced and congratulated the following Democratic staff for the Natural Resources Committee in the 118th Congress:

Full Committee Staff

Matthew Muirragui, Deputy Staff Director

Carlyn LeGrant, Director of Legislative Operations

Qay-liwh Ammon, Policy Aide

Ivan Robles, Policy Aide


Luis Urbina, Chief Counsel

Margarita Varela-Rosa, Deputy Chief Counsel (promoted from Deputy Director for Insular Affairs)


Lindsay Gressard, Communications Director

Jason Johnson, Communications Advisor

Outreach and Engagement

Chris Espinosa, Director

James Davis, Member Services Coordinator

Marilyn Zepeda, Outreach Associate

Policy Staff

Brandon Bragato, Subcommittee Staff Director

Vic Edgerton, Subcommittee Staff Director

Rachel Gentile, Subcommittee Staff Director (promoted from Professional Staff)

Naomi Miguel, Subcommittee Staff Director

Brian Modeste, Subcommittee Staff Director

Sarina Weiss, Subcommittee Staff Director (promoted from Professional Staff)

Kelsey Hartman, Professional Staff

Ariana Romeo, Professional Staff

Henry Wykowski, Professional Staff


Back To News