Skip to content
January 31st, 2020
Rep. Grijalva Statement on Travel Ban Expansion

WASHINGTON—Today, the Trump Administration announced an expansion of its travel ban just shy of the third year anniversary of the original Muslim and Refugee Ban. The ban will restrict travel to the United States from six new countries: Sudan, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, and Tanzania. In response, Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva issued the following statement:

“The travel ban is emblematic of the Trump Administration’s cruelty and hatred towards diverse immigrants, and is covered in the fingerprints of noted white nationalist White House Advisor Stephen Miller. Ever since its inception, this wrongful profiling policy has separated families and prevented innocent people from coming to our country to seek safety, life-saving medical care, and educational opportunities.

“Three years after the announcement of his first Muslim and refugee ban, these travel bans remain just as discriminatory today as they were then. Congress must vote on the No Ban Act and end this cruel policy once and for all.”


Stay in touch with Rep. Grijalva:

Newsletter – Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – Website

Back To News